Solitary Liberation

It was another occasion where it was this weird blurry situation of separating with Paul and not knowing when we will see another again. So I had a few days on the road alone. It wasn’t as depressing as it may sound. The ride was incredible. It was the route between the two ranges, Cordillera Negra and Blanca.

4,000 something meters morning after I spent the night at a home with the only residents between kilometers of inhospitable highlands. The stretch south of Huaraz was the place where I experienced the most solitude, probably ever, in this trip.

4,000 something meters morning after I spent the night at a home with the only residents between kilometers of inhospitable highlands. The stretch south of Huaraz was the place where I experienced the most solitude, probably ever, in this trip.

The lonely lake Conococha.

The lonely lake Conococha.

DCIM100GOPRO

Not a mug shot. Just a photo of some kind Peruvians who gave me a free soup on the house at the Casablanca, a trucker stop.

The road to Chiquian, and further, Huayhuash Park.

The road to Chiquian, and further, Huayhuash Park.

Corn kernels dry on the roadside.

Corn kernels dry on the roadside.

Happy travels.

Happy travels.

My first night alone I was at 4,000 something meters. A kind old lady and her husband allowed me to sleep on the floor of their small home in the middle of no-where's-ville?? It was so cold. I found frost on my bike the next day.

My first night alone I was at 4,000 something meters. A kind old lady and her husband allowed me to sleep on the floor of their small home in the middle of no-where’s-ville. It was so cold throughout the night. I found frost on my trailer bag the next day.

View from their front door.

View from their front door.

Hosting in Chiquian at the Huayhuash Hotel.

Breakfast with the family in Chiquian at the Huayhuash Hotel.

Downhill rides, ahead.

Downhill rides, ahead.

The little old lady couldn't understand who I was or what i was doing. She asked if my trailer was carrying milk.

The little old lady couldn’t understand who I was or what i was doing. She asked if my trailer was carrying milk.

A look over one of the many Andean villages.

A look over one of the many Andean villages.

Some people leave me no choice but to join them for dinner. Here, at an officer station I was given a room to sleep and a hot meal.

Some people leave me no choice but to join them for dinner. Here, at an officer station I was given a room to sleep and a hot meal.

In nearly every village, there are bundles of corn hung to dry. The kernels are served as delicious snacks in restaurants.

In nearly every village, there are bundles of corn hung to dry. The kernels are served as delicious snacks in restaurants.

Sometimes I choose to camp in villages so as long as I am near company I trust.

Sometimes I choose to camp in villages so as long as I am near company I trust.

Honk if you're Peruvian. What killed the tranquillity of this ride was the excessive honking. Here, explains why.. it's encouraged. Sentiments from fellow cyclist youjustpedal's Tweet:  PERUVIANS - The horn is not a toy. Stop f*#@ing beeping at me. Thank you

Honk if you’re Peruvian. What killed the tranquillity of this ride was the excessive honking. Here, explains why.. it’s encouraged. Sentiments from fellow cyclist youjustpedal’s Tweet: “PERUVIANS – The horn is not a toy. Stop f*#@ing beeping at me. Thank you.”

A landmark known as the Corona del Incas behind me and the local villagers.

A landmark known as the Corona del Incas behind me and the local villagers.

IMG_9057 copy

Peruvian women of the Andes wear flowers on their hats.

IMG_9059 copy
After days of riding up to 4,000 meters a few times and finally dropping into the arid lowlands, I arrived to Huanuco. My host there was Midori. Her and her family were wonderful people to know and they made me feel so welcomed at home. However I got sick, again. Not sure if it was the extreme changes in weather or could be parasites making weekly parties in my system, for the last 3 months.

After days of riding up to 4,000 meters a few times and finally dropping into the arid lowlands, I arrived to Huanuco. My host there was Midori. Her and her family were wonderful people to know and they made me feel so welcomed at home. However I got sick, again. Not sure if it was the extreme changes in weather or could be parasites making weekly parties in my system, for the last 3 months.

Aurturo and Auturo Jr, Midori’s dad and brother, shared with me 2000 years old artifacts they themselves escavated in Peru.

Auturo and Midori being cute.

Auturo and Midori being cute.

And from Huanuco I took a bus to get further south.. Why and where to? What followed? Find out , on the next blog.

One thought on “Solitary Liberation

Leave a Reply

